The municipality of Pigcawayan is located on the Western part of Cotabato Province, bounded on the North by the Province of Lanao del Sur, on the South by Kabuntalan of Maguindanao Province and Midsayap of Cotabato Province. On the East, it is bounded by the municipalities of Alamada and Libungan, on the West by the Municipality of Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao. It is the boundary municipality of Cotabato and Maguindanao Province. It is 26 kilometres (16 mi) from Cotabato City, 32 kilometres (20 mi) from Awang Airport and 30 kilometres (19 mi) from the nearest seaport which is the Polloc Port of Parang Maguindanao.

During the planning period of 1981 – 1985, 1990, Pigcawayan’s land area was only 20,285 hectares, however recent surveys of the Bureau of Soils, the present area is 34,011 hectares. Out of this total, 30.62% or 10,413.99 hectares are still mountainous areas, which soil classification is undifferentiated.

Pigcawayan is politically subdivided into 40 barangays by which 3 are urban and 37 rural barangays.

Pigcawayan Administrative Map